Packard Sonic’s Blog
From the mind of Packard Sonic. Buckle up for this ride!

Just dying to fish!

As I have posted in the past that I do travel around quite a bit, I tend to see a lot of interesting things and sometimes some of the dumbest things people will do. There is a site for people who fit in to this category, the site is the “Darwin awards” and if you have ever been to that site you already have some idea what I’m talking about. For those of you out there that read my blog, and might not know what that is, it’s where people do something so stupid that it usually results in their own demise. Ok, so what does that have to do with fishing you may be asking. Well about 2 weeks ago when the weather was still pretty nippy out and the lakes and rivers were for the most part you could still yet walk on but at your own risk. There is a lake about 10 miles or so from here that I happened to pass by on the way back to the terminal that early morning when I saw what I thought was one of the dumbest things I had come across in some time.
The bridge I crossed over at this lake, had a large section of open water under it and a larger part of the lake was still covered in ice, however, it didn’t look all that thick enough to be walking on for my tastes. As I glanced over, I saw not one, but as I recall about five guys out near this open water area on the now melting and unstable ice digging into it with ice augurs! For the ice fishing impaired or others that might not see ice except on TV or in pictures, it’s a device like a way over sized corkscrew for making and digging holes to fish out of.
When I was much younger I went out there and did this with my dad, and freezing my butt off I might add! After I got older, I realized that doing this activity takes a special kind of person that enjoys fishing year-round. However, digging in to the ice on a lake near open water far from the safety of shore takes a whole other type of person. CRAZY!! People like this are truly out of their minds to say the least. You hear stories about people falling through when they are out ice fishing several times a year, and I truly feel sorry for them when that happens. However, if you are out near where the open water is and doing that, you have to stop and ask yourself.. Are you really that bored and need an extra thrill to something that most people use for relaxation? Seriously? Try jumping in front of a moving train or something else! Anything else instead, it will be much quicker! By going out on already dangerous ice like that, you not only endanger your own life, but also all the others that will try to rescue you from your own stupidity! We all know you like to fish, with all the fishing stuff you have and the stuff on your walls is proof enough. However, when the season is done, wait for the waters to open up and take your boat out or fish from the shore. No fish is worth your life or the others you may end up taking with you.

3 Responses to “Just dying to fish!”

  1. I agreee. Once I went out with a friend and drove on a iced lake. dumb idea and another time chased my dog unto one very foolish.
    great blog!

  2. I love your setup using the Darwin Awards.
    I wonder if the foolish & dangerous things that most of us do isn’t a challenging of the inevitable, and in surviving we feel immortal…for the moment.

  3. My name is Piter Jankovich. oOnly want to tell, that your blog is really cool
    And want to ask you: is this blog your hobby?
    P.S. Sorry for my bad english


Leave a Reply

